About Jerome

Labor Councillor for West Ward

Jerome Laxale was elected to Ryde Council in 2012 after years of experience in private enterprise. Representing suburbs including Marsfield, Eastwood, Denistone and West Ryde, Jerome has been an enthusiastic and accessible elected official during his term on Council. At 31, Jerome was elected as the youngest Mayor in Ryde’s history, and only its second ever Labor Mayor. Jerome served as Mayor from 2015-2016.

As a endorsed candidate of the Australian Labor Party, Jerome places a great deal of emphasis on fairness and equality. He acknowledges that Government can play a role in solving problems, rather than making them, and he draws much experience from owning and operating his business in Western Sydney.

Jerome graduated from the University of New South Wales in 2004, and is currently a company director. His role as director is to oversee all operations of his business, plan for the future and to be ultimately responsible for its financial sustainability.

In his years on Council, he has fought for better facilities, more open space for community events that bring people together. He also initiated Council’s entry into Social Media, its partnership with Australia’s Racism it stops with me! campaign, let a national push against changes to the Racial Discrimination Act and was the driving force behind Council’s recent adoption of its Affordable Housing policy.

Jerome is a Christian and lives in Denistone East with his wife and three children. Having a family firmly planted in Ryde means that he wants his area to be the best that it can be. He wants the best schools, the best child care, and a fair and affordable housing mix across the City.

Roles on Ryde Council

  • Mayor 2015-2016
  • Councillor 2012 - Current
  • Chair of the Parramatta River Catchment Group
  • Chair of the Sports & Recreation Advisory Committee
  • Chair of the Centenary of ANZAC and Commemoration of World War 1 Committee
  • Member of the Planning and Environment Committee
  • Member of the Works and Community Committee
  • Member of the Finance and Governance Committee
  • Member of the Civic Hub Committee